My County Committee assignments

Chairman Holloway has released the new committee assignments for members of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors following the election of myself and Eyon Biddle to the board.

I’m pretty psyched about my county committee assignments. They are ParksTransit, and Personnel. Here’s info on each of them:

Parks, Energy and Environment

Meets at 9:00 A.M. on the 2nd Tuesday before the County Board Meeting

All matters concerning county parks and parkways are the responsibility of this Committee.  Members set policy for the parks department, organized recreation, cultural activities, the University Extension program, the Environmental Services Division of the Department of Public Works and Zoo park services.  Members have jurisdiction over matters concerning the conservation of all uses of energy and make recommendations relating to conservation of air, water, energy and all other resources.

Personnel

Meets at 9:00 A.M. on the 1st Friday before the County Board Meeting

Employee relations, including collective bargaining, reclassification, compensation and conditions of employment of County personnel and officers are handled by this Committee.  Members set policy for the Civil Service Commission and administer the county Employee Merit Award program.

Transportation, Public Works and Transit

Meets at 9:00 A.M. on the 3rd Wednesday before the County Board Meeting

The mission of the Department of Public Works, including the construction and maintenance of county highways, bridges and public structures are the responsibility of this Committee.  Members discuss all matters pertaining to the policy of mass transit and the Milwaukee County Transit System, including fares, service routes and capital improvements.  The Committee discusses all matters under its jurisdiction pertaining to railroads and public utilities in the county.


Remarkably, the Chairman named me as Vice Chair of the Parks Committee. I’m honored to receive this vice-chair positon, and will strive to improve our parks and transit systems. During the campaign, I told voters I would strive for Clean Parks, Better Transit, and Safer Communities. With these committee assignments, I will work for all of those. And, while I’m at it, a little bit more.

Thanks again to the voters who chose me as their representative. I will do my best for you!

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

3 thoughts on “My County Committee assignments”

  1. What can we do together to get our fellow MKE County voters to gain the necessary voter ID documents in time for the July 12th elections? Another way to ask this is “what can **I** do to help with this?

Comments are closed.