RIP Steve Jobs, 1955-2011

My daughter called me tonight, and she told me “Steve Jobs has died.”

I stopped in my tracks, agape.

“I’m sorry, say again?”

Steve  Jobs has died.

Blind-sided, all I could ask was, “Really?” She replied “Uh-huh.”

Oh. 

Few among my contemporaries anyway, have so greatly, or for that matter so directly influenced so many aspects of my life. My daughter called me, which made my iPhone buzz. It came full circle in some very slight way.

Thanks for everything.

(The New York Times has a lengthy obituary that is worth your time to read.)

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.