Passing all the laws in the world won’t save some children

These stories being adjacent to each other makes it no more or less painful that some children have horrible lives, and sometimes, even worse, more horrible deaths.

Verona mother arrested in death of infant son

It’s too bad the second item would have done nothing to prevent the first. These stories really break my heart. I think that most any parent imagines these horrible things happening to their children when they read the article. It was really hard when I had my then-very young daughter, though it is still crushing to read of someone doing this by choice to a child of any age. And now that I have a young son, it’s a direct reminder of how fragile he is. I just can’t imagine why on earth anyone would do this. That’s the one time I think the death penalty is appropriate, although that would free them of having to live with the knowledge of what they did.

Author: Jason Haas

Jason is an elected member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, occasionally moonlights as an amateur gardener, and is a proud father of two, or three, depending on how you do the math.

4 thoughts on “Passing all the laws in the world won’t save some children”

  1. Children remind us of the power of love–and the horrors that can happen in its absence. Like most (honest) parents, I look back at my child-rearing “skills” with a critical eye. My kids don’t–they remember that my love for them was (and is) constant and unconditional.

    The best ways Mr. Walker could protect WI children is to guarantee their health care and education.

Comments are closed.