Early Wisc. Gov. prediction

Barrett vs. Neumann in the general, assuming Barrett announces his intention to enter on Sunday.

And I’d say Barrett will win it. Sure, he’s from Milwaukee, but this seems to be a tick in his favor. He’s shown he can hold the line on spending while also working to renovate and improve the city. His experience with the federal government will come in handy, too. That may be tempered by Neumann’s own time in Congress, but Barrett has shown that he can use it to the advantage of the city, if not the state.

So far, my record has been pretty good on predicting the winning vice presidential candidates in major elections. (Yay?) I knew Al Gore would be Clinton’s veep, and that Cheney would select himself for Bush II, and they’d get in through some questionable means. I also figured Doyle would win in Wisconsin, that Kerry wouldn’t make it in ’04, and that Obama would carry through over Clinton and McCain. (Having lived in New Mexico, I carried a small hope for Bill Richardson, though I knew his chances were poor.) So we’ll see how this goes. It’s for governor, and not vice president. But we’ll see.

I think Barrett has done a fine job in Milwaukee, and I’m wondering who will step up to take his place should he win in 2010.

Prospective mayoral candidates, you are always welcome at Drinking Liberally. Speaking of, what are you doing next Wednesday night?

Published by Jason Haas

I am a resident of the Bay View neighborhood in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and a member of the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors. That sometimes comes up on here, as it's kind of a small part of my life. No official county business happens here. I'm mostly using this now to give a rough draft account of how we're dealing with the COVID-19 pandemic. God help us all.

2 thoughts on “Early Wisc. Gov. prediction

  1. It will be Walker and Barrett, with Walker winning. Barrett has done little to balance the Milwaukee budget or control cost and spending. His website is big on giving money, short on policy.

Comments are closed.